Mercedes front row for 2016 Canadian F1 GP

Mercedes 1,2 after Canadian GP qualifying
Can Hamilton overtake Rosberg on points?
Rosberg’s 13th consecutive front-row start

MONTREAL, Canada – Once again two Mercedes cars have annexed the first two slots of the Formula 1 GP grid but are only 0.062sec apart.

Lewis Hamilton won his 53rd GP hole shot with a 1min812 lap – which he later pooh-poohed as “not great” – while team mate Nico Rosberg will start from his 13th consecutive front row.

Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel was third-fastest but less than two-tenths slower than Hamilton who, if he wins and Rosberg fails to score, will retake the 2016 championship lead.


Reuters quoted Hamilton after the post-race conference as saying: “It actually wasn’t a great lap. I didn’t have the pace I had yesterday (Friday) but it was obviously enough.

“It doesn’t matter how far you are ahead as long as you’re ahead. Ferrari has picked up the pace with upgrades they have brought – iIt will be exciting to have a race with them.”

The next three slots were filled, in order, by Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo, his teenage up-and-coming sensation team mate Max Verstappen and Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen.

Read the full Reuters report

2016 Canadian Grand Prix grid for the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve
1 Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes
2 Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes
3 Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Ferrari
4 Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Red Bull
5 Max Verstappen (Netherlands) Red Bull
6 Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari
7 Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams-Mercedes
8 Felipe Massa (Brazil) Williams-Mercedes
9 Nico Hulkenberg (Germany) Force India – Mercedes
10 Fernando Alonso (Spain) McLaren
11 Sergio Perez (Mexico) Force India – Mercedes
12 Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren
13 Esteban Gutierrez (Mexico) Haas – Ferrari
14 Romain Grosjean (France) Haas – Ferrari
15 Carlos Sainz Jr (Spain) Toro Rosso – Ferrari
16 Daniil Kvyat (Russia) Toro Rosso – Ferrari
17 Jolyon Palmer (Britain) Renault
18 Pascal Wehrlein (Germany) Manor – Mercedes
19 Felipe Nasr (Brazil) Sauber – Ferrari
20 Rio Haryanto (Indonesia) Manor – Mercedes
21 Marcus Ericsson (Sweden) Sauber – Ferrari
22 Kevin Magnussen (Denmark) Renault


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s